Rainiest of Rainy Days

(August 30, 2015)

During a big rainstorm, it’s nice to curl up indoors with a good book and a cup of warm tea. However when it’s volunteer day at kennels, it’s time to put on the rainboots and raincoat and head outside! Regardless of the weather the dogs still need to fed and taken care of, so the kennels are open 365 days a year.

On this day in August, there were Amber rain and thunderstorm alerts in the morning. The weather was evenΒ worse than the supposed signal 8 typhoon we had earlier in the year. As a result of the rain we were only 4 volunteers to start, with a few more arriving later in the morning. There wasn’t much we could do though, since it was raining so hard.

Nancy Drew reminded me so much of Eeyore today. Her droopy face and sad expression matched the gloomy weather perfectly XD But she has a home now so she can be happy again! πŸ˜€
2390f-img_20150815_091822

I told my mom I was still going to kennels even though it was raining, and she told me to “stay safe and stay dry”. I said I would stay safe, but I couldn’t promise about staying dry πŸ˜‰ AndΒ of course the first thing that happens when I get to kennels is that enthusiastic Midas rushes over to say hello and drapes his soaking wet paws (more like his whole front end) over my lap. Yup. I didn’t stay dry for very long πŸ˜‰ Midas is such a fun boy though. He loves to play; him and Zipper are perfect for each other, and it’s a tough job getting them to stop playing and go back to their enclosures.

I think this is Doc, but he’s already grown so much since this photo that I can’t be sure this is him!
a0226-img_20150815_091926

Since we can’t walk the dogs in the pouring rain, I ended up spending a lot of time in Enclosure 5, petting the dogs and giving them some attention. The moment I walked in, this dog started circling around me and trying to squeeze between my legs. I was so confused at first because he rarely comes out of hiding, and I didn’t even know he lived in the enclosure until a few weeks ago. Then I realized he was so scared that his whole body was shaking, and my heart broke for him. Here is this dog who is usually scared of humans and won’t let anyone near him, yet when he is reallyΒ scared, he still comes to me for comfort. How I wish he had always had a home of his own where he could feel safe from the thunderstorms.
f4ef3-img_20150815_094339

He wouldn’t leave my side and ended up just sitting next to me.
fff89-img_20150815_094401

Poor boy. I don’t even know your name. (But it may be Taco). He let me pet him and I hope it was at least a little comforting.
21379-img_20150815_103145

Taco and Kellett huddled inside the dog houses.
9595d-img_20150815_111227_hdr
Mac was in the one beside them.
b4eee-img_20150815_095323

Pistachio was inside a dog house too.
bc3bc-img_20150815_095746

The tan twins, Tumbler and Peanut.
1ad91-img_20150815_095752

Pip: Is it going to stop raining soon?
8bb3a-img_20150815_111143

Later in the morning the rain let up a bit so I walked a couple of dogs, Tasha and Cookie. They are toilet trained so we had to take them out to let them go to the washroom. After they did we went back inside. We still got pretty wet even though we were wearing ponchos.

The enclosures have covered areas for the dogs to stay out of the rain, but at the end of the day they are still outdoors and the dogs still get wet. So every dog that gets adopted is one more dog out of the rain! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

